What is Halal
Halal (حلال) is an Arabic word meaning "lawful", as intense as anything that is allowed in Islam. The wider concept of the term Halal, is something that goes beyond only the food, but concerns more properly a way of life: from his relationship with God to interpersonal relations, from everyday life to political, financial and economic aspects .
However the term Halal for Non Muslims attracts more often for food products that Muslims can consume, thus limiting its meaning to only feeding.
Allah (SWT) has given clear indications of what is allowed and what is not allowed to be consumed, thus becoming also the act of eating and drinking, rather than make a precise action, a means of worship for Allah:: “O mankind! Eat of that which is lawful and wholesome in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of the devil. Lo! he is an open enemy for you”. (Surat Al Baqara, 2:168).
In the other side, the term Haram means "prohibited". The most common example of non-halal (or haram) food is pork (pig meat products). Muslims must also ensure that all foods (particularly processed foods), as well as non-food items like cosmetics and pharmaceuticals, are halal. Frequently, these products contain animal by-products or other ingredients that are not permissible for Muslims to eat or use on their bodies. Foods that are not considered halal for Muslims to consume include blood and intoxicants such as alcoholic beverages. If there is no halal food available and a Muslim is forced by necessity, then a Muslim is allowed to eat non-halal food in order to prevent death due to starvation.